Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry

The Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry is an American college football rivalry between the University of Michigan Wolverines and Michigan State University Spartans.

Since 1953, the winner of every calendar year’s game has obtained the Paul Bunyan Trophy. The teams played in 1898 and have met virtually every year since 1910 (exceptions in 1943 and 1944). 44 of those first 50 games have been played in Ann Arbor, but since then, U of M and MSU have played 30 home games against each other. The contest became a summit rivalry with Michigan State’s entrance into the Big Ten Conference in 1950.
The teams have met 111 occasions with Michigan winning 70 games, Michigan State winning 36 games, and five matches end with the score tied. Michigan dominated the series for its first half century, compiling a 33–6–3 album in 1898 to 1949. The tide shifted to Michigan State in the 1950s and 1960s, as the Spartans under head coaches Biggie Munn and Duffy Daugherty compiled a 14–4–two record in 1950 to 1969. The wave then shifted back to the Wolverines since Michigan compiled a 30–8 record against the Spartans from 1970 to 2007. Since 2008, Michigan State has dominated the show with an 8–3 album.
Michigan State’s longest winning streak from Michigan is four games. Michigan’s longest winning streak from Michigan State is 14 games.

Read more: worldbaseball2017.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *